An animatic and a loving tribute

Here is an animatic for a piece in 2d class. It’s going to be animated in flash, my first real venture into it, and I already hate the inking system 🙂 My very talented friend, Aleson Ho (check out her beautiful work at http://yimyan.wordpress.com/) designed the cute little bean guy and we had to do a tiny 30 second to 1 minute long piece with the character.

The top left is her original drawings, so nice aren’t they? I saw his big jiggley butt, and his sad bean face and I knew instantly that this bean could not be happy! So I went for a mix of my own expressiony style as well as her constantly adorable style. When I emulate other people’s drawings I normally aim to be a little off model just so my personality sneaks in. Below is the rough animatic I pieced together that I like. It has all the elements of classic comedy that I adore: happy go lucky character  a’ la Chaplin, who just wants a good day, only for it to go horribly wrong! This piece has some very nice timing and I’m thrilled to begin work on it!

And on a sad note….my wonderful, amazing, stupid, hilarious, adorable dog Stewie died last night. He died in his sleep next to my Dad with the family back home. It kills me to know I wasn’t there to see him off, and it was out of the blue cause he was only 6. Kidney infection that got to bad to fast. He’s in my heart forever, right now I don’t have time to really draw a picture of him, but I found this picture I love of us. Another tribute picture I draw will be put up later. But enjoy his amazingness in these real life photos

Leave a Reply

